Mental Health and Addictions Service

Education

St. Michael's, a major teaching and research hospital affiliated with the University of Toronto, offers an excellent educational environment. To get more information, visit Teaching and Learning at St. Michael’s Hospital.

The Mental Health and Addictions Service trains students of all professional disciplines. The majority of psychiatric residency training focuses in general adult psychiatry, community and addictions psychiatry, geriatric psychiatry and consultation liaison. Career clinical and research rotations are available in a number of areas focusing on suicide studies, social psychiatry and mental health services research.  For further information on residency training please go to:

Key Mental Health and Addictions Education Contacts

Jeff Loudermilk, education coordinator, Mental Health and Addictions Service

Room: 17-035 Cardinal Carter Wing
Phone: 416-864-6060 Ext. 6481
Email: loudermilkj@smh.ca

Kathy Wong, program educator, Mental Health and Addictions Service

Room: 17-028 Cardinal Carter Wing
Phone: 416-864-6060 Ext. 6418
Email: kwong@smh.ca

Dr. Julie Maggi, director of education, Mental Health and Addictions Service

Phone: 416-864-3084
Email: maggij@smh.ca

Dr. Chris Willer, postgraduate education coordinator, Mental Health and Addictions Service

Phone: 416-864-3090
Email: willerc@smh.ca

Dr. Ilana Shawn, PGY-1 coordinator

Phone: 416-864-3090
Email: shawni@smh.ca

Dr. Kien Dang, undergraduate education coordinator, Mental Health and Addictions Service

Phone: 416-864-3084
Email: dangk@smh.ca

Dr. Shree Bhalerao, continuing medical education coordinator, Mental Health and Addictions Service

Phone: 416-864-3084
Email: bhaleraos@smh.ca

Upcoming rounds