COVID-19 information for patients and families

To help protect our people, patients and communities, we are screening everyone who enters our main hospital buildings. Some of our entrances may be closed or have reduced access.

Please check our COVID-19 information page for more updates before coming to our sites.

Student Centre

Education Achievement Day

Every year, St. Michael’s honours its physician educators at the Education Achievement Day Award Ceremony. The annual breakfast ceremony is hosted by the vice-president of Education and features St. Michael’s CEO and senior management.  This event pays tribute to the exceptional achievements in medical education by our physicians, medical residents and staff.

2009 Honorees

Image of Education Achievement Day

Dr. Patricia Houston, Vice President of Education and Sarita Verma Vice-Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education UofT, present Dr Jeff Wassermann with the Art Dunn Undergraduate Award.

Image of Education Achievement Day

Dr. Bob Hyland, Physician-in-Chief and Jay Rosenfield Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education UofT, present the Outstanding Postgraduate Teacher Awards

Image of Education Achievement Day

Dr. Philip Berger and Dr. Ivan Silver, Vice-Dean Continuing Medical Education UofT present the St. Michael's Hospital Emergency Medicine Teacher of the Year 2009 to Dr. Jason Falk

Guest Speaker: Geoff Norman Expert Clinical Reasoning: Is It the Rules You Know or the Patients You've Known?”

Award Winners:

Best Surgical Ophthalmology Award  - Dr. Trevor Chin Fook
Best Medical Ophthalmology Award - Dr. Gordon Squires

William Noble Award - Dr. Robert Chen
U of T Gerald Edelist Award for Postgraduate Education
Dr. Jeff Wassermann
Art Dunn Undergraduate Award - Dr. Jeff Wassermann
Art Dunn Postgraduate Award  - Dr. Brian Pollard

Donald J. Currie Undergraduate Teaching Award - Dr. Julian Spears
Leo Mahoney Resident Teaching Award - Dr. Michael Ordon
William Horsey Postgraduate Teaching Award - Dr. Daniel Whelan
Jameel Ali Continuing Education Award - Dr. Lee Errett
Paul McGoey Teaching Award - Dr. Rashid Jinnah

Laboratory Medicine
Kalman Kovacs Award - Undergraduate Teaching - Dr. Eleanor Latta
Bernadette Garvey - Postgraduate Teaching - Dr. Cathy Streutker
Arthur Vandenbroucke Award - Laboratory Technologists and Technicians –
Dr. Larissa Matukas

Outstanding Leadership in Advancing Interprofessional Education –
Filomena Meffe


Excellence in Undergraduate teaching - Dr. Mark Yudin
Excellence in Postgraduate teaching - Dr. Howard Berger


Dr. Murray Muirhead Postgraduate Awards -
PGY1  Dr. Ann Marie McKenna
PGY2  Dr. Bianca Cot
PGY3  Dr. Daniel Ricciuto

J.J. Connon Award -
Dr. Paul Szmitko

Outstanding Postgraduate Teacher Awards
Dr. Vincent Chien, Dr. Jan Friedrich, Dr. Samir Grover, Dr. Peter Kopplin, Dr. Maria Kraw, Dr. Yuna Lee, Dr. Howard Leong-Poi , Dr. Ophyr Mourad, Dr. Natalie Wong
Dr. Gerald Wong Award – Dr. Yuna Lee
Dr. Luigi Casella Award – Dr. Paul Dorian

Fitzgerald Academy
Clinical Teacher Award –Dr. Ryan Mai
PBL Teacher Award -  Dr. James Baker
Clerkship Award – Dr. Yuna Lee
Master Teacher Award – Dr. Rob Sargeant
Resident Teacher Award – Dr. Bianca Cot, Dr. Husam Abdel-Qadir, Dr. Megha Suri
Friends of the Academy Award - Dragana Markovic

Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Medical Education - 2008/2009 - Dr. Shree Bhalerao
Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education - 2008/2009 - Dr. Shree Bhalerao and Dr. Kien Dang
Award for Excellence in Continuing Medical Education - 2008/2009 - Dr. Corinne Fischer

Family Medicine
Award for Outstanding Contribution to Medical Education - Dr. Gwen Jansz

Emergency Medicine
St. Michaels Hospital Emergency Medicine Teacher of the Year 2009 - Dr. Jason Falk

St. Michael’s Hospital Board of Directors Complete Physician Award 2009
Dr. Lawrence Leiter


Education Achievement Day Winners

2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011
2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005