COVID-19 information for patients and families

To help protect our people, patients and communities, we are screening everyone who enters our main hospital buildings. Some of our entrances may be closed or have reduced access.

Please check our COVID-19 information page for more updates before coming to our sites.

Student Centre

Education Achievement Day

2008 Honorees

Guest Speaker: Susan Lieff: Teaching in medicine; a time of opportunity

Award Winners:

Best Surgical Ophthalmology Award: Dr. William Macrae
Best Medical Ophthalmology Award: Dr. Trevor Chin Fook


William Noble Award: Rob Chen
Canadian Anaesthesiologists Society John Bradley Young Educator Award:
Dr. Viren Naik
Art Dunn Undergraduate Award: Dr. Vince Hughes
Art Dunn Postgraduate Award: Dr. Mike Kolton

Donald J. Currie Undergraduate Teaching Award: Dr. Vern Campbell
Leo Mahoney Resident Teaching Award: Dr. Michael Ko
William Horsey Postgraduate Teaching Award: Dr. Daniel Bonneau
Paul McGoey Teaching Award: Dr. William Ristevski

Dr. Murray Muirhead Postgraduate Awards:
Dr. Malika Sharma – PGY 1
Dr. Lawrence Jacobs Jr. – PGY 1
Dr. Kathryn Towns – PGY 2
Dr. Adam Weizman – PGY 2
Dr. Isaac Bogoch – PGY 3

 Dr. J.J. Connon Award: Dr. David Maslove

Outstanding Postgraduate Teacher Awards
Dr. Chi-Ming Chow
Dr. Samir Grover
Dr. Amir Hanna
Dr. Lisa Hicks
Dr. Yuna Lee
Dr. Ophyr Mourad
Dr. Natalie Wong

Dr. Gerald Wong Award: Dr. David Chan
Dr. Luigi Casella Award: Dr. Howard Leong-Poi


Fitzgerald Academy
Clinical Skills Teacher Award - Dr. Neil Fam
PBL Teacher Award - Dr. Steve I'm
Clerkship Teacher Award - Dr. Rob Sargeant
Master Teacher Award - Dr. David Wong
FitzGerald Academy Hall of Fame Award - Dr. John Bohnen
FitzGerald Academy Friends of the Academy Award - Carita Valentini, Narisha Jiwa

Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Medical Education:
Dr. Lorne Tugg
Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education:
Dr. David Robertson
Award for Excellence in Continuing Medical Education
Dr. Mark Halman

Family Medicine
Award for Outstanding Contribution to Medical Education: Dr. Karen Weyman

Emergency Medicine
St. Michael’s Hospital Emergency Medicine Teacher of the Year 2008:
Dr. James Maskalyk

St. Michael’s Hospital Board of Directors Complete Physician Award 2008
Dr. Vince Chien

Education Achievement Day Winners

2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011
2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005